10 Comments

Palin website needs updating

Sarah Palin may have quit as governor of Alaska last year, but her official website still has her as governor of the 49th U.S. state. Lesson to be learned: if you’ve got a website you’d better make sure it’s up to date or you’ll lose credibility.

Mrs Palin, who served as Senator John McCain’s vice presidential running mate in his failed 2008 presidential campaign, stepped down as governor of Alaska in July 2009. It prompted speculation that she is positioning herself for a 2012 presidential bid.

But a website described as “Sarah Palin’s Official PAC” has still (Dec 20, 2010) not caught up with her surprise resignation 17 months ago. It mentions her work as a governor as if she was still in the job.

The only updates seem to be a rousing speech she delivered to the national convention of the Tea Party conservative grass root movement and an itinerary of her American book tour this year.

I don’t take sides politically, but people who go to Mrs Palin’s website may be confused by the notion that she remains governor. Failure to update a website with the latest information, especially when it constitutes a major change, is a cardinal sin in the online world. It’s like trying to sell yesterday’s newspaper.

Mrs Palin’s website: “Please note: There are many websites claiming to support Sarah Palin. SarahPAC.com is the ONLY political action committee authorized by Sarah Palin.”

Maybe the feisty politician should have a word with her website host.

I welcome your comments.

Rolf Soderlind

http://www.absolutwriting.com/ absolutwriting

10 comments on “Palin website needs updating

  1. I followed one or two of these but they’re a bit thin and this one on Sarah Palin is just wrong. She is allowed the courtesy title. Don’t you have them?

  2. I know you guys refer to retired politicians like “Thatcher” and “Blair” but here we are more polite. You ever hear a recent interview with Newt Gingrich? He’s still called Speaker Gingrich.

    Governor Palin’s PAC team are OK to refer to her like that, even though she’s no longer Governor of Alaska. And that website is recent, not some old out of date one.

  3. Thanks for your feedback. I am aware of the courtesy title in U.S. politics and I should have mentioned it in my entry to people who don’t know about it. We have no such thing in Britain for example. But my entry remains correct because the fact is that the website has not been updated with Mrs Palin’s resignation, which was the point I was making.

  4. Not all State Governors continue to use the title after they leave office, but I guess we should observe their wishes. If Sarah Palin wants to be called Governor, then so be it.

  5. I was told this was a blog worth reading. Going on what you just replied, it’s only for Europeans. We know that Governor Palin isn’t liked in Europe.

    • Thanks, but writing proper English is not restricted to a continent. I’ve been running my corporate writing classroom course in London, New York, Boston, St Louis, Paris and Geneva. My online writing course has been attended by students all over the world. My average score is 8.2 out of 10.

      As I wrote, I don’t take sides, but I don’t dislike Sarah Palin. I was only reviewing a website linked to her.

  6. I am not a Tea Party member, as a matter of fact I am a Democratic precinct delegate. On behalf of all the party members that I represent in Michigan, I would like to thank you for reminding everyone that Sarah Palin quit her job midterm representing the people of Alaska and much of what she says lacks any truth.

    I always knew there was a reason I liked Europeans.

Leave a Reply

