13 Comments

British civil servants told to write proper English

The British Department for Transport has produced a guide that lists grammatical no-no’s for officials, according to newspaper reports. The instructions detail linguistic errors in official documents that annoy Justine Greening, the recently appointed Transport Secretary. I do welcome this initiative!

The guide, leaked to The Mail on Sunday and also reported by The Daily Telegraph this week, tells civil servants to mind their grammar when they write letters. Among other things, it says: “Do not put in too many adverbs. For example avoid phrases like ‘strongly opposed’ and just say ‘opposed’.”

I agree with this advice because you’ll save a word and the adverb isn’t always necessary. You are either opposed to something or not.

It’s the same with a word such as “very”.

Let’s say a vendor writes that this software is safe. That’s fine. I am convinced it’s safe. But I’ll get worried if the advertisement says that this software is very safe. The message has been diluted. The software is either safe or not, so maybe it isn’t safe then. Don’t rob your writing of conviction by adding unnecessary amplifying words.

Here’s another one from the Department for Transport: “Avoid passive construction at the start of sentences eg ‘It is essential to note that’.”

That’s good advice because not only does a passive construction often demonstrate poor style, it’s a sneaky way for the writer to escape responsibility for a decision.

Compare: It was decided to shut down the project with We decided to shut down the project.

The guide also says that for correspondence, letters should be kept to under a page where possible.

Oops. I’d better stop here.

I welcome your comments.

Rolf Soderlind

13 comments on “British civil servants told to write proper English

  1. Thank you for another fantastic post. Where else may anyone get that type
    of information in such a perfect method of writing?

    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the search for such info.

  2. Happy to be of help. Good luck with the presentation.
    cheers,
    Rolf

  3. Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would
    really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Bless you

    • Hi there, thanks for the kind words. The dark red banner was something I downloaded from wordpress.com long ago. I think it was called “newspaper headline” or something like that.

  4. I really like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  5. I just couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard information a person provide for your visitors?
    Is gonna be again frequently in order to check up on new
    posts

  6. Wow, this piece of writing is good, my sister is analyzing these things,
    therefore I am going to let know her.

  7. I comment when I especially enjoy a post on a
    website or I have something to add to the conversation.
    It’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the article I looked at.
    And after this post British civil servants told
    to write proper English | grumpyoldeditor. I was actually moved enough
    to create a comment 😛 I do have some questions for you if
    it’s allright. Is it just me or does it give the impression like
    some of the comments look like written by brain dead individuals?

    😛 And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to keep
    up with everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list every one of all your social pages like
    your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  8. Wonderful, what a blog it is! This website provides
    helpful facts to us, keep it up.

  9. I am curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be using?
    I’m having some small security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more secure.

    Do you hav any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

